Bio

Recognized for his deep musicality, strong technique, and colourful playing, the young Canadian violinist Dominique Bégin is a gifted and multifaceted artist, currently a first-year Violin Fellow at the New World Symphony of Miami. Winner of the San Francisco Conservatory Violin Concerto Competition, he performed in recitals across North America and Europe, and shared the chamber music stage with artists such as Owen Dalby, Dimitri Murrath and members of the Telegraph Quartet.

Over the years, Dominique studied with renowned musicians and pedagogues such as Mauricio Fuks, Augustin Hadelich, Vadim Gluzman, Michael Frischenschlager, Lucie Robert, Yair Kless, and the Emerson, Miró and Aizuri Quartets. He was selected as an active participant in the 2019 Violin Masterclasses of the Kronberg Academy and the 2017 Mozarteum Summer Academy.

Having started the violin at age 4 with his parents, both professional musicians, he obtained a Bachelor’s Degree from the Conservatoire de musique de Québec, where he studied with Jean Angers, Catherine Dallaire and Darren Lowe. He then went on to pursue a Master’s Degree in Chamber Music at the San Francisco Conservatory with Simon James, where he was a founding member of the Calix Quartet, winner of the 2020 Barbara Fritz Chamber Music Award of the Berkeley Piano Club.

A seasoned orchestra musician, Dominique regularly performs as a substitute player in professional orchestras such as the Orchestre symphonique de Québec and the Orchestre symphonique du Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean, among others. He is also passionate about teaching and loves to communicate his musical energy with younger students.

In addition to his love for music, Dominique is also an accomplished web developer. In parallel to his collegiate studies in violin, he completed a Computer Science degree and worked professionally in the field for one year, before dedicating himself fully to his musical career.

Dominique plays on a 1975 Sergio Peresson violin, as well as a 1973 Stelio Rossi viola graciously loaned by Canimex Inc.

Bio

Reconnu pour sa profonde musicalité, sa technique solide et son jeu coloré, le jeune violoniste québécois Dominique Bégin est un artiste talentueux et versatile, présentement membre du New World Symphony à Miami. Gagnant du concours de concerto du San Francisco Conservatory of Music, il s’est produit en récital à travers l’Amérique du Nord et en Europe, et a partagé la scène avec des artistes tels qu’Owen Dalby, Dimitri Murrath et des membres du Telegraph Quartet.

Au fil de son parcours, Dominique a étudié avec de grands musiciens et pédagogues tels que Mauricio Fuks, Vadim Gluzman, Michael Frischenschlager, Lucie Robert, Yair Kless et les quatuors Emerson, Miró et Aizuri. Il fut sélectionné en tant que participant actif aux cours de maître de l’académie Kronberg en 2019, ainsi qu’à l’académie Mozarteum en 2017.

Ayant débuté l’apprentissage du violon à l’âge de 4 ans avec ses parents, tous deux violonistes professionnels, il obtint un Baccalauréat au Conservatoire de musique de Québec, où il étudia avec Jean Angers, Catherine Dallaire et Darren Lowe. Il poursuivit ses études au San Francisco Conservatory of Music auprès de Simon James, où il fut également membre fondateur du Quatuor Calix, gagnant du prix de musique de chambre Barbara Fritz présenté par le Berkeley Piano Club.

Musicien d’orchestre chevronné, Dominique se produit régulièrement en tant que membre surnuméraire dans des orchestres professionnels tels que l’Orchestre symphonique de Québec et l’Orchestre symphonique du Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean, entre autres. Il est aussi passionné d’enseignement et aime beaucoup communiquer son énergie musicale avec de plus jeunes étudiants.

Outre son amour de la musique, Dominique est également un développeur Web expérimenté. Durant ses études collégiales en violon, il obtint un DEC en informatique et travailla professionnellement dans le domaine pendant un an avant de se dédier totalement à sa carrière musicale.

Dominique joue sur un violon Sergio Peresson 1975, ainsi qu'un alto Stelio Rossi 1973 gracieusement prêté par Canimex Inc.